Chelmsford Cathedral
 
Regular Services and Music Lists

 

Chelmsford Cathedral is home to a thriving worshipping community of all ages, and a centre of worship for people and communities across Essex and east London.

Worship is at the heart of everything we do here, and you are welcome to join us on Sundays and through the week. Some of our services are great celebrations with many hundreds of people; others are more intimate times of prayer and meditation. Visitors are always welcome – and Christian worship is a powerful way to learn more about the Christian faith and the life of the Christian community.

The cathedral is open every day of the year. Please come in, light a candle, say a prayer  simply enjoy the tranquillity of this special place. 

 

Sundays    
8.00am   Holy Communion: a simple said celebration of about 35 minutes
9.30am   Parish Eucharist: a lively celebration for people of all ages lasting about 70 minutes
11.15am   Choral Eucharist or Mattins: sung by the cathedral choir about 70 minutes
3.30pm  

Choral Evensong: sung by the cathedral choir lasting about an hour

Weekdays and Saturdays 

7.45am   Morning Prayer: a very simple time of prayer with psalms and readings, lasting about 15 minutes and followed by 15 minutes of silence
8.15am   Holy Communion: a simple celebration lasting about 25 minutes
10.00am   Holy Communion (Thursday): a simple celebration lasting about 25 minutes
12.35pm   Holy Communion (Wednesday): a simple celebration lasting about 25 minutes
12.00pm   Midday Prayers and Quiet Hour: an invitation to enjoy the stillness of the cathedral
5.15pm   Choral Evensong (term time - except Wednesdays and most Saturdays where it is a said service): a meditative service with beautiful music lasting about 40 minutes

 

The Services & Music list contains full details about Cathedral services; click below to download.

 

Current List

 

Sunday 4 June - Saturday 1 July

Sunday 7 May - Saturday 3 June

Sunday 23 April - Saturday 20 May

Sunday 26 March - Saturday 22 April

 

Past Lists

Sunday 26 February - Saturday 25 March

Sunday 29 January - Saturday 25 February

Sunday 1 January - Saturday 28 January

Sunday 25 - December - Saturday 14 January

 

 

 

Sunday 12 March, 3.30pm

Choral Eucharist Farewell to Archdeacon Martin.  Please click here for Order of Service 

Gallery Gallery

Click a thumbnail for the full size picture