Chelmsford Cathedral
 
Regular Services and Music Lists

Chelmsford Cathedral is home to a thriving worshipping community of all ages, and a centre of worship for people and communities across Essex and east London.

Worship is at the heart of everything we do here, and you are welcome to join us on Sundays and through the week. Some of our services are great celebrations with many hundreds of people; others are more intimate times of prayer and meditation. Visitors are always welcome – and Christian worship is a powerful way to learn more about the Christian faith and the life of the Christian community.

The cathedral is open every day of the year. Please come in, light a candle, say a prayer and simply enjoy the tranquillity of this special place. To see the music and service details for evening services between 29th April and 4th May, please click here

 

Sundays    
8.00am   Holy Communion: a simple said celebration of about 35 minutes
9.30am   Parish Eucharist: a lively celebration for people of all ages lasting about 70 minutes
11.15am   Choral Eucharist or Mattins: sung by the cathedral choir about 70 minutes
3.30pm  

Choral Evensong: sung by the cathedral choir lasting about an hour

Weekdays and Saturdays 

7.45am   Morning Prayer: a very simple time of prayer with psalms and readings, lasting about 15 minutes and followed by 15 minutes of silence
8.15am   Holy Communion: a simple celebration lasting about 25 minutes
10.00am   Holy Communion (Thursday): a simple celebration lasting about 25 minutes
12.35pm   Holy Communion (Wednesday): a simple celebration lasting about 25 minutes
12.00pm   Midday Prayers and Quiet Hour: an invitation to enjoy the stillness of the cathedral
5.15pm   Choral Evensong (term time - except Wednesdays and most Saturdays where it is a said service): a meditative service with beautiful music lasting about 40 minutes

 

The Services & Music list contains full details about Cathedral services; click below to download.

 

Current List

Sunday 5 May - Saturday 1 June

Past Lists

Sunday 21 April - Saturday 4 May

Sunday 24 March - Saturday 20 April

Sunday 24 February - Saturday 23 March

Sunday 27 January - Saturday 23 February

Sunday 30 December - Saturday 26 January

Sunday 2 December - Saturday 29 December

Sunday 4 November - Saturday 1 December

Sunday 21 October - Saturday 3 November

Sunday 23 September - Saturday 20 October

Sunday 26 August - Saturday 22 September

Sunday 29 July - Saturday 25 August

Sunday 1 July - Saturday 27 July

Sunday 3 June - Saturday 30 June

Sunday 20 May - Saturday 2 June

Sunday 22 April - Saturday 19 May

Service of Evensong Sunday 20th January 2019 3.30pm.

Click here for the Order of Service.

Service of Evensong Sunday 13th January 2019 3.30pm.

Click here for the Order of Service.

Gallery Gallery

Click a thumbnail for the full size picture